Manila International Book Fair: A Booked Date

At last I have this time to share about my mini adventure at the 35th Manila International Book Fair or MIBF. If you love libraries and endless book sales, then you’d probably have “the feels” of my excitement on that event. A few months before the MIBF, I’ve been constantly checking its schedule on the web.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The year’s book fair happened last September 17-21 at the SMX Convention Center in SM Mall of Asia (MOA). So I’ve been planning my whole week prior to that as to when I’d be attending the event. I love coming to the book fair as much as lovers want Valentines’ Day.

Just a little back story…

I’ve first attended the MIBF about seven to eight years ago. I was a member of my school’s Book Lovers’ Club in high school. Where else would I be? I’m not interested in academic or drama clubs. (Although I was part of the Science Club, for academic purposes). Anyway, as a Book Lovers’ Club member, I was among the privileged to have a tour at the MIBF with the school library team. I don’t know what exactly we had to do there. I just wanted to go outside the school 🙂 That time, the MIBF exhibited at the World Trade Center. Whoa! It was for me a big, big, no… It was an enormous library. Of course, I never actually cared what happened there. All I knew was we collected brochures, magazines, and freebies. That, for me, was the book fair—a place to get freebies related to school supplies and the library.

Fast forward. I was in college and on a sembreak when I saw a lot (6 to 7 items is a lot for me) of books on the cabinet. Mama said it was from the book fair. That’s when I learned that what a book fair really is. Since it happens annually every September, in college, I won’t be able to be there. (I studied in Baguio City and officially resides in Manila). So, I told myself that when I’ve settled already in my hometown, I’d be at the book fair every year. Yeah, it’s some kind of a pilgrim I’ve decided for myself 🙂

I @ This Year’s MIBF

These are some of the things I have seen at this year’s fair.

Oh, dear! What big book, you are!

Oh, dear! What big book, you are!

Aside from books, robotics stuff were showcased.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This mini structure has a gate that opens and closes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

National Bookstore’s Kobo

Hello, digital learning! This tablet called Kobo is similar to Kindle.

Meet and greet and book signing with your favorite authors.

Pol Medina of Pugad Baboy

Pol Medina of Pugad Baboy

I bought a children’s book and got the author signed it. Hello, Ms. Lauren!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lauren Macaraeg, author of Sinemadyika

Lauren V. Macaraeg won first place at the 1st Annual Lampara Books Children’s Story Writing Contest.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Jomike Tejido, author of Jepoy Dyip Series of Lampara Books

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Kids' books on sale! Yey!

Kids’ books on sale! Yey!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Sale and bargains from Christian bookstores!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Marlene Munar has also authored a textbook published by our company 😀

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Rex Bookstore turned their booth into a book museum.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Actress Rita Avila also promoted her new children’s book. Cool.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Stolen shot while they packed up

I’ve bought a few books this year compared with last year (I’m on a budget!). Got me really tired at the end of the day. It was always worth it and I’d sure be coming back next year. If you haven’t been to one, I encourage you to do so. A book fair’s not just for geeks. Oh, be in love with books. It was the best date ever. 😀 P.S.: I came there with my mom. Nyenye.

Leave a Reply

